Environmental Safety and Risk Management Committee (ESRM)

ESRM Charter

Updated April 12, 2013

The Environmental, Safety and Risk Management Committee (ESRM) develops policies and procedures to improve oversight of safety and risk management.  Areas of focus include:

  • Occupational health and safety
  • Laboratory safety
  • Public safety, including visitors and contractors
  • Fire safety
  • Building security systems
  • Fleet safety
  • Pedestrian safety
  • Campus events
  • Environmental stewardship

For these areas, the ESRM committee evaluates the level of risk at the University, reviews existing policy and the practices needed to implement the policy, and makes recommendations aimed at reducing risk.  ESRM provides guidance for the University efforts in environmental health and safety, risk management, campus safety, protection of physical assets, research safety, and to individual academic and administrative departments.

ESRM meets three or four times a year to review incident statistics including workers’ compensation losses, incidents and accidents on campus, property losses, fires and false alarms, audits of related programs and periodic status reports of the University’s safety, security and risk management efforts.

Subcommittees and groups:

  • Emergency Preparedness Team
  • Field Research Safety Committee
  • Fire Safety Committee
  • Fleet Safety Committee
  • Health, Safety and Accessibility (HSA) Committee
  • Life Safety and Security Committee
  • Pedestrian Safety Committee
  • Workers Compensation Committee

Committee Membership


Treby Williams, Executive Vice President

Committee Members

Vice President for Finance and Treasurer, Carolyn Ainslie

Dean for Research : Pablo Debenedetti

Dean of the Faculty: Deborah Prentice

Dean of the Graduate School: Sanjeev Kulkarni

Dean of the College: Jill Dolan

Vice President, Facilities: Michael McKay

Vice President, Campus Life: Rochelle Calhoun

General Counsel: Ramona Romero

Vice President, Human Resources: Lianne Sullivan-Crowley

Vice Provost for Institutional Equity and Diversity, Michele Minter

Vice Provost for Space Programming and Planning: Paul LaMarche

Vice President, University Services, Chad Klaus

Vice President for Information Technology and Chief Information Officer, Jay Dominick

Faculty: VACANT, Professor
Richard A. Register, Ph.D., Chair, Department of Chemical Engineering
Terrence Brog, Ph.D., PPPL

Sits with Committee

Director of Environmental Health and Safety, Secretary: Robin Izzo

Associate Director, Audit and Compliance: Hope Caldwell

Executive Director of Public Safety: Paul Ominsky

Executive Director for Administrative Planning: Laura Strickler

Executive Director of University Health Services: John Kolligian

Director of Risk Management: Megan Adams

Assistant Vice President for Facilities Operations: Donald Lowe

Head, Environment, Safety, Health and Security PPPL: Jerry D. Levine

Representative, Academic Managers Group (AMG): Geoff Gettelfinger


In 1970, the University established a policy level Committee on Safety and Health (COSH) to create policies related to health and safety.  In the fall of 2000, the responsibilities of this committee were expanded to including developing policies and providing management oversight for matters relating to environmental, safety and risk management practices campus-wide.  Committee membership changed to reflect the new responsibilities, and the committee began its work reviewing training and audit procedures to ensure awareness of best practices, and where applicable, to ensure institutional compliance with University policies or governmental regulations.

Meeting Schedule and Materials

Meeting Schedule for FY17

October 3, 2016 at 1:30 PM
December 5, 2016 (cancelled)
February 20, 2017 at 2:00 PM
April 19, 2017 at 1:00 PM

Meeting minutes and materials available here.

Policies and Endorsements